Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Brothers Karamazov
Everlasting Star Community > Discussions > The Book Club
Phil Downe
Hi, I'm a Newbie on the site. I was researching Marilyn's library from the October 1999 Christie's auction and came across a list of 390 books that were in the auction with this passage in the section under Russian Literature:

355) The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky (not in
the Christie's catalogue. But friends of MM recall her reading it as a young
actress, and she had hopes of playing Grushenka. Her own remarks in
interviews make it clear that she had read the novel.)

The list was compiled by Everlasting Star.

Mystery solved!

I have it, along with MM's copy of Abraham Lincoln, The Prairie Years and The War Years, by Carl Sandburg jumpymm.gif

Cheers,
MarilynIloveU
You own the book?
mberton
QUOTE(Phil Downe @ Aug 8 2013, 08:06 PM) *
Hi, I'm a Newbie on the site. I was researching Marilyn's library from the October 1999 Christie's auction and came across a list of 390 books that were in the auction with this passage in the section under Russian Literature:

355) The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky (not in
the Christie's catalogue. But friends of MM recall her reading it as a young
actress, and she had hopes of playing Grushenka. Her own remarks in
interviews make it clear that she had read the novel.)

The list was compiled by Everlasting Star.

Mystery solved!

I have it, along with MM's copy of Abraham Lincoln, The Prairie Years and The War Years, by Carl Sandburg jumpymm.gif

Cheers,

Hi Phil and welcome to ES. If you actually own Marilyn's personal copies of these books can you share any inscriptions/notes in the books or details about the condition of the books?
Phil Downe
QUOTE(MarilynIloveU @ Aug 23 2013, 11:49 PM) *
You own the book?